Brush Spreading

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
User avatar
daninski
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Brush Spreading

Post by daninski » 02 Oct 2017, 09:24

Hi all,

I'm a bit confused/frustrated trying to get this effect to work for me.

Is it possible to use it to get a painted background to boil? Does the image it is applied on need to have a boarder to it, or can it be full screen? is it possible to apply it to an art line?

I can get it to work on a simple gradient, as seen in this tutorial, but only if there's a boarder https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8DV7NnglGsk
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
mox
Posts: 721
Joined: 13 Feb 2006, 19:24
Contact:

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by mox » 02 Oct 2017, 10:23

It doesn't work on "plain" colours, the FX needs shapes (with borders) in order to apply the brush on the edge.
Jerome Lorin
Portfolio
(Win8/TVP 11.0.8-64 bits pro)

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by daninski » 02 Oct 2017, 12:35

So the shapes are set by alpha, not by colour differences? Ok, that's still workable. The backgrounds are normally painted on different layers anyway, so that could work.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13298
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by Elodie » 03 Oct 2017, 05:28

mox wrote:
02 Oct 2017, 10:23
It doesn't work on "plain" colours, the FX needs shapes (with borders) in order to apply the brush on the edge.
Actually it does, depending on the way you configure it.

Danininski, could you post screenshot of what you're trying to attempt ?
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by daninski » 04 Oct 2017, 11:45

An example image of what I was playing with, no artline, just the colour layer.
What I want to do it get three frames generated of the image, I keyframe the order scene for that as far as I know. My problem now is getting the spread in the whole screen, not just in the edges.

Image

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lrgnltfe6xd92 ... m.png?dl=0
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13298
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by Elodie » 04 Oct 2017, 12:21

There you go :
brushspreading.mp4
(12.64 MiB) Downloaded 43 times
(it's a soundless video, but it should be easy to understand).
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by daninski » 04 Oct 2017, 14:53

Yeah, that doesn't work for me, I have half the screen as preview btw; so there's no boarder. I'll do you a video...
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13298
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by Elodie » 04 Oct 2017, 14:56

Yes, that's beacuse the preview mode is "left" and not "full".

Edit : Oh ! and brush spreading won't work if there is no empty borders around the shape.
Attachments
001.png
001.png (21.18 KiB) Viewed 573 times
002.png
002.png (15.35 KiB) Viewed 573 times
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by daninski » 04 Oct 2017, 15:05

Here you go, the hoop doesn't seem to affect anything unless there's a boarder...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wysw4w8kg2o23 ... d.mp4?dl=0
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by daninski » 04 Oct 2017, 15:06

Ah ha, that's the answer then!
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by daninski » 04 Oct 2017, 15:11

How big does the boarder have to be? Is there a minimum?
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13298
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by Elodie » 04 Oct 2017, 15:55

1px border around is enough. =)
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Brush Spreading

Post by daninski » 04 Oct 2017, 17:46

...and there in lies the solution :)
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 23 guests