Mac OS High Sierra

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 13918
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by Elodie » 09 Jan 2018, 15:25

I'm asking because other people are asking me : is TVPaint 11.0.8 running fine on Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra ? Any reason not to update to High Sierra at this point ?
Well... I would not advise you to upgrade to High Sierra as long as it is not necessary.

I have contacted Wacom regarding issues between TVPaint and Wacom drivers, I'm still waiting for an update. Indeed, new models works fine, but... it sounds like a way to make you pay for new device.

Regarding Safenet drivers, we should - hopefully - get rid of them definitely quite soon. At the moment, the issue can be quite random : here, nobody had any issue when installing the drivers and our Mac can perfectly use TVPaint. This is nut....
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2202
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by D.T. Nethery » 25 Feb 2018, 13:21

I want to confirm that there still appears to be a problem with TVPaint running on Mac OS High Sierra .

One of the other instructors I work with at AAU told me that her TVPaint will not find the dongle now that she has updated to Mac OS High Sierra . Last week on Sierra it was working , but now that she has updated to High Sierra it gives her the error message that the dongle is not present in the USB port . (this is her single-user license of TVPaint running on her own Macbook , the school has a networked license running on Windows PCs ).
Screen Shot 2018-02-25 at 7.59.34 AM.jpg
Screen Shot 2018-02-25 at 7.59.34 AM.jpg (19.78 KiB) Viewed 1262 times
Is the procedure shown in JeremyN's post on Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:02 am , reinstalling the Sentinel driver from the file in Jeremy's post still the best way to fix the issue ?

https://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic ... 44#p103514

.
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
JeremyN
Site Admin
Posts: 85
Joined: 24 Apr 2015, 14:41

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by JeremyN » 26 Feb 2018, 08:11

Yes, reinstalling Sentinel's driver should still works. However, if driver 7.5.4 doesn't work, try with driver 7.4.2.

It seems that Apple breaks more and more things with High Sierra update...
Mac Developer

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2202
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by D.T. Nethery » 26 Feb 2018, 12:17

JeremyN wrote:
26 Feb 2018, 08:11
Yes, reinstalling Sentinel's driver should still works.

However, if driver 7.5.4 doesn't work, try with driver 7.4.2.
Thank you.


If anyone needs a link to find driver 7.4.2 Sentinel UltraPro dongle for Mac , here it is:

https://sentinelcustomer.gemalto.com/se ... &l=English
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

gjeaks
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 14:45

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by gjeaks » 10 Mar 2018, 03:55

Does anybody have a problem with a pixelated UI? I am getting the jagged/sharp lines while drawing as well.
Has a solution been found?

Recently go a mac T_T
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-03-10 at 7.54.56 AM.png
WIN: Windows 10 / i7-3840QM / 16GB / Quadro K3000M 4GB / TVP PRO 11.0.6 64-bit / Cintiq 13HD
MAC: macOS 10.13.3 / i7 2.2GHz / 16GB / Intel Iris Pro 16 GB / TVP PRO 11.0.8 64-bit / Intuos 5 (ver 6.3.28-2)

gjeaks
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 14:45

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by gjeaks » 10 Mar 2018, 05:09

So I had the guidelines turned off and got my lines back.
Attachments
linesmooting.png
WIN: Windows 10 / i7-3840QM / 16GB / Quadro K3000M 4GB / TVP PRO 11.0.6 64-bit / Cintiq 13HD
MAC: macOS 10.13.3 / i7 2.2GHz / 16GB / Intel Iris Pro 16 GB / TVP PRO 11.0.8 64-bit / Intuos 5 (ver 6.3.28-2)

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2202
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by D.T. Nethery » 10 Mar 2018, 12:56

Apple is doing its best to nudge everyone to update to Mac OS High Sierra . Their latest step in this effort is the removal of Mac OS Sierra from the App store, reportedly even from the "previously purchased" list. Fortunately, Apple is still providing Sierra for download, just hidden out of view - follow the link below.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208202

Get the Sierra installer while you still can , as a back-up if you need to reinstall Sierra and don't want to update to High Sierra.
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

Patrick_Meikle
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Mar 2018, 20:16

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by Patrick_Meikle » 11 Mar 2018, 01:15

Hello Everyone,

I've been having issues with High Sierra. Sadly, downgrading my OS isn't currently an option for me. I received your software just two days ago and the dongle was only recognised once so far. It worked with the 7.4.2 driver that was suggested, however after shutting down the software and re-plugging in the dongle a little while after, the same issues arose stating that I have exceeded my network license or need to plug in the dongle. Also, this happened after my computer prompted me that someone else had my IP address. I'm a newb to these things and really need the assistance.

My current computer model is a MacBook Pro Mid-2015 (1 month old)
macOS High Sierra (10.13.2)
2.2Ghz Intel Core i7
16 GB RAM

If the issues with drivers persists, is there any possible update that Safenet is possibly preparing that would be compatible with High Sierra or something of the sort?
Computer: MacBook Pro Mid-2015/ 2.2GHz Intel Core i7/16GB RAM
Software: TV Paint 11.0.8 (32-Bit) Standard Edition
Tablet: Wacom Cintiq 13HD

Patrick_Meikle
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Mar 2018, 20:16

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by Patrick_Meikle » 11 Mar 2018, 02:57

This is what has happened recently. I try to allow it as well and does not seem to register when I click allow. Nothing happens no matter how many times I do click it.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-03-10 at 9.35.39 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-10 at 9.35.39 PM.png (80.1 KiB) Viewed 997 times
Computer: MacBook Pro Mid-2015/ 2.2GHz Intel Core i7/16GB RAM
Software: TV Paint 11.0.8 (32-Bit) Standard Edition
Tablet: Wacom Cintiq 13HD

User avatar
Thierry
Site Admin
Posts: 1836
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 08:28

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by Thierry » 13 Mar 2018, 14:35

Yeah, it seems that there is a lot of issues with the "Allow" button in High Sierra :/

According to what I've read on Apple forums, if you have 3rd-party software that can intercept and/or emulate your mouse movements and clicks, you will not be able to click on the "Allow" button.
Here's some threads I've found:
- Allow button doesn't work in Security & Privacy
- "Allow" Button in System Preferences for Blocked System Software Doesn't Work

I've also read that using Wacom tablets might also cause the issue, so if you unplug your Wacom, then click with your normal mouse on the button, it might work.

There's a lot of info on this page: https://github.com/tekezo/Karabiner-Ele ... ssues/1017
I had a similar issue in 10.13.3. It took a few days to find a fix. Namely, Security asked me to "approve" Google for its Google File Stream Drive KEXT. In console, I could see that the keypress event was being rejected. It was ultimately due to the use of a third-party mouse from Logitech. I plugged in my Magic Mouse, click on the "approve" and things started to work as advertised.
So, I figured this out!!! I use magic perf to intercept various touchpad actions. It seems like Apple is obsessed with security. If you have this problem try to disable any apps that my capture and forward clicks. The click must come from the touchpad directly. << pulling my hair out >>
Alternatively you can use the keyboard, if you have full keyboard access enabled:
Image
Then just press tab several times until the "Allow" button is highlighted, then press space to activate it.
Can you try these solutions, and if one works, tell me which one ?
P.S. Si votre question a trouvé réponse, marquez votre sujet comme Résolu.
P.S. If your question has been answered, mark your topic as Solved.

---
Avatar by Colombine Majou
---
Thierry CANTET

User avatar
joonasjoonas
Posts: 78
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 15:48
Location: Helsinki Finland

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by joonasjoonas » 21 Mar 2018, 12:50

Hi!

It was a struggle, but I finally got this to work.
I'm running High Sierra on an iMac and I have a Wacom Cintiq 22HD. (I'm also running it on an MacBook pro with otherwise the same setup. That one worked fine all the time)

I got TVPAINT to work on the iMac (*probably) like this:

-New drivers from Wacom (which do not work after restart, needs clearing the preferences after every restart)
-Sentinel 7.4.2 driver
-Allowing running it in System Preferences while Cintiq USB was not connected!
-Re-installing TVPaint
-Plugging the dongle into the USB port
-Seems to work (I haven't had the guts to restart the system since I have some work to finish, but I'll do that later this week, and I'll let you know if it doesn't work anymore)


*I say probably because I tried all sorts of things before, everything listed above in the thread and some other stuff, but any of them didn't seem to work.

I hope this helps!

User avatar
joonasjoonas
Posts: 78
Joined: 15 Nov 2006, 15:48
Location: Helsinki Finland

Re: Mac OS High Sierra

Post by joonasjoonas » 04 Apr 2018, 07:38

UPDATE -

After restart, this doesn't work anymore.

Post Reply