Holds in Pans and Adding Editing Effects

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
Prinzenick
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Jul 2017, 04:37

Holds in Pans and Adding Editing Effects

Post by Prinzenick » 26 Jul 2017, 15:26

Hello, I'm new to using TV Paint, and I've figured out a lot of the basics of using the camera already. But even though I know how to use ease ins and ease outs in pans, I don't know how to make a pan stop in place or stop altogether--is there a specific setting for that?

Also, how do you apply editing effects like fades and wipes to your animation? I see the settings but they don't seem to work.

My OS and its version is an Windows 7 emachines PC.

My OS architecture is 64 bit. The CPU type is AMD Athlon (tm) II X2 250u Processor (1.60 GHz) and the amount of installed RAM is 4.00 GB (3.75 available).

My software version is TV Paint 11.0.3.

My software edition is TVPaint Animation 11 Pro DEMO.

My Wacom Tablet is an Intuos 3 Graphics Tablet. The Driver version is 6.3.15-3.

Any help is appreciated!
Last edited by Prinzenick on 26 Jul 2017, 16:13, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Thierry
Site Admin
Posts: 1722
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 08:28

Re: Holds in Pans and Adding Editing Effects

Post by Thierry » 26 Jul 2017, 15:43

Hello Prinzenick,

Please read the Read me first before posting a question topic:
When you have an issue with TVPaint Animation, please, don't forget to precise important details :

• What is your OS and its version :
- Mac OSX 10.7 (Lion), 10.8 (Mountain Lion), 10.9 (Mavericks), 10.10 (Yosemite)...
- Windows Vista, 7, 8, etc...
- Linux Ubuntu 10.04+, Debian 6+, RedHat Entreprise Linux 5+, Fedora 15+
• What is your OS architecture (32 or 64 bit) + CPU type and amount of RAM.

• What is your software version (for example : Mirage 1.5, TVPaint 9.5.21, TVPaint 10.0.11, etc...)

• What is your software edition (Standard or Professional)

• For the Professional Edition : What is the architecture (32 or 64 bit) ?

• What is your Wacom (or other brand) Tablet and drivers version ?

By the way, don't forget to repeat the details above EACH time you have an issue. We cannot remind the configuration of all our users :wink:
(to save time, you can write the information above in your sign)

Moreover, don't forget that the more you will give us concrete examples with images or downloadable files, the faster we could answer you.
P.S. Si votre question a trouvé réponse, marquez votre sujet comme Résolu.
P.S. If your question has been answered, mark your topic as Solved.

---
Avatar by Colombine Majou
---
Thierry CANTET

Prinzenick
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Jul 2017, 04:37

Re: Holds in Pans and Adding Editing Effects

Post by Prinzenick » 26 Jul 2017, 16:10

Thank you! I added as much info as I could to my first post!

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2078
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Holds in Pans and Adding Editing Effects

Post by D.T. Nethery » 27 Jul 2017, 15:28

Prinzenick wrote:
26 Jul 2017, 15:26
even though I know how to use ease ins and ease outs in pans, I don't know how to make a pan stop in place or stop altogether--is there a specific setting for that?
This is one of the tricky parts of the Camera Tool to understand and get used to, but when you have practiced a bit it will be easier. This has been discussed frequently on the Forum so rather than rewrite instructions here I will refer you to some previous discussions -

http://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic. ... =15#p57457

http://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9133

https://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic ... 10&t=10502

https://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic ... 10&t=10455

http://tvpaint.fr/forum/viewtopic.php?f ... 34b8f9d5b1

A useful technique mentioned in several of those discussions is to break up a camera move that has several steps into separate Clips , using the Split Clip function from the Clip Menu.
Here's an explanation of that technique, with screen captures, in this post:

https://www.tvpaint.com/forum/viewtopic ... 455#p97916

Also, how do you apply editing effects like fades and wipes to your animation? I see the settings but they don't seem to work.
For Transitions like Fades or Wipes (called "Classic" in the TVP Transition FX ) you must keyframe the duration of the transitional effect and select the frames on the Timeline that you want the FX applied to , and then click on Apply FX Stack to render the effect on the selected frames. (see the video tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hOw8j8BDvkQ and
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqZ8Bt-671A )

For example , let's say you want to add a simple fade-in starting from frame 1 - to - frame 48 . Fill one frame with solid black ... stretch it out for 48 frames . Now go to the FX Stack > Transition > Fade . At frame 1 the Fade FX should be set to 0% transparency , click the KEY icon next to it to set a keyframe (you will see the + keyframe symbol appear under frame 1) . Now advance to frame 48 and adjust the transparency percentage to 100% . You will see another + keyframe symbol appear under frame 48. Now select all those frames from 1 - to - 48 , FX Stack set to Apply On: Current Layer - Selection - Apply on Frames , then click on the button at the bottom of the FX Stack window which says Apply FX Stack. This will render the Fade FX on the selected frames.
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

Prinzenick
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Jul 2017, 04:37

Re: Holds in Pans and Adding Editing Effects

Post by Prinzenick » 27 Jul 2017, 16:20

Thank you, D.T. Nethery! That really helps!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests