how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
lam giang
Posts: 79
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 16:32
Contact:

how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by lam giang » 19 Jul 2017, 17:46

I try to use lens flare in FX menu. Some how I just can't figure out how to do it. I used previous but I am not seeing anything. And what is obscuration layer? Thank you and attached is my screen shot.

Appreciate you help :D
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-07-19 at 10.14.54 AM.png

o0Ampy0o
Posts: 98
Joined: 25 Oct 2015, 22:26

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by o0Ampy0o » 20 Jul 2017, 03:27

I believe you are not seeing a lens flare because you do not have one set up. Looking at your screen image there is nothing in the Lens Flare box. You click on the inverted pyramid and load one of the three options as a base: (=> New => Generic, Streaks, Image) then customize the various parameters. I was able to produce a lens flare without reading the user guide. It will take a lot of experimentation to understand how each parameter changes the effect though.

The Obsuration Layer is like a mask. It blocks the effect. If you had a character walk between the camera and the flared light you would need to block the effect wherever the character was positioned. In the user guide example they describe the phenomenon of an eclipse where a planet blocks the viewer from seeing the flare in full view. https://www.tvpaint.com/doc/tvp11/index ... lens-flare
Last edited by o0Ampy0o on 20 Jul 2017, 05:53, edited 1 time in total.
Main System: Mac Pro running OS X: 10.10.5 | 3.8GHz i7 | 32GB RAM | 64-bit TVPaint Pro 11.0.6 | iPad Pro, Apple Pencil and Astropad | Wacom Intros Pro using Driver: 6.3.21-8

lam giang
Posts: 79
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 16:32
Contact:

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by lam giang » 20 Jul 2017, 05:50

o0Ampy0o wrote:
20 Jul 2017, 03:27
The Obsuration Layer is like a mask. It blocks the effect.

If you had a character walk between the camera and the flared light you would need to block the effect wherever the character was positioned.

In the User Guide example they describe the phenomenon of an eclipse where a planet blocks the viewer from seeing the flare in full view.

https://www.tvpaint.com/doc/tvp11/index ... lens-flare
Thank you! I missed the the PDF tutorial.

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 12900
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by Elodie » 20 Jul 2017, 05:54

In your defence, it's not the easiest FX to use :roll:
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

o0Ampy0o
Posts: 98
Joined: 25 Oct 2015, 22:26

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by o0Ampy0o » 20 Jul 2017, 06:00

lam giang wrote:
20 Jul 2017, 05:50
o0Ampy0o wrote:
20 Jul 2017, 03:27
The Obsuration Layer is like a mask. It blocks the effect.

If you had a character walk between the camera and the flared light you would need to block the effect wherever the character was positioned.

In the User Guide example they describe the phenomenon of an eclipse where a planet blocks the viewer from seeing the flare in full view.

https://www.tvpaint.com/doc/tvp11/index ... lens-flare
Thank you! I missed the the PDF tutorial.
I was editing my post to add a little bit more information while you were posting.

I did not mean to suggest I found it easy to produce a lens flare because it was simple. I just went down the list in the FX window and clicked things to see what they lead to. The lens flare I produced was created by TVPaint and I just loaded it. If I had to create one exactly how I imagined one I could not do it without reading and experimenting a lot more.

Good luck and PLEASE post your results when you are done.
Main System: Mac Pro running OS X: 10.10.5 | 3.8GHz i7 | 32GB RAM | 64-bit TVPaint Pro 11.0.6 | iPad Pro, Apple Pencil and Astropad | Wacom Intros Pro using Driver: 6.3.21-8

lam giang
Posts: 79
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 16:32
Contact:

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by lam giang » 20 Jul 2017, 14:37

yes, I will update it once I have the scene works out! Crossing my figures!

lam giang
Posts: 79
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 16:32
Contact:

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by lam giang » 27 Jul 2017, 20:24

Hello TVP buddies :)

Just an update on my lens flare test, I didn't end up using the lens flare FX at TVP.
I created two pngs for the lens flare effect (sun light and circle bubbles), keyed them at different movements and set them to overlay.
On the bus, I hand-animated the light travels the top of the bus, vary it in sizes.
Please point out/give me feedback, if something doesn't look right or could be better.

Image
Attachments
Scene51_400pixel.gif
Scene51_400pixel.gif (7.22 MiB) Viewed 631 times

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2030
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by D.T. Nethery » 28 Jul 2017, 10:32

lam giang wrote:
27 Jul 2017, 20:24
Hello TVP buddies :)

Just an update on my lens flare test, I didn't end up using the lens flare FX at TVP.

I created two pngs for the lens flare effect (sun light and circle bubbles), keyed them at different movements and set them to overlay.
On the bus, I hand-animated the light travels the top of the bus, vary it in sizes.
Please point out/give me feedback, if something doesn't look right or could be better.

Image
It looks very good ! Thanks for sharing your artwork and the process you used to make it .
MAC OS 10.11.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.6, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

lam giang
Posts: 79
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 16:32
Contact:

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by lam giang » 28 Jul 2017, 11:57

You are welcome! :D

User avatar
Elodie
Site Admin
Posts: 12900
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by Elodie » 28 Jul 2017, 12:16

I agree with David, the result is amazing and I find it more genuine than a tradition "lens flare". I can't wait to see the whole film :D
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

lam giang
Posts: 79
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 16:32
Contact:

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by lam giang » 28 Jul 2017, 13:13

Thanks you both!
:D

o0Ampy0o
Posts: 98
Joined: 25 Oct 2015, 22:26

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by o0Ampy0o » 29 Jul 2017, 04:42

Liam,

The flare came out beautiful and the scene is consistent with the beauty in all of your artwork.
Main System: Mac Pro running OS X: 10.10.5 | 3.8GHz i7 | 32GB RAM | 64-bit TVPaint Pro 11.0.6 | iPad Pro, Apple Pencil and Astropad | Wacom Intros Pro using Driver: 6.3.21-8

lam giang
Posts: 79
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 16:32
Contact:

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by lam giang » 29 Jul 2017, 15:05

o0Ampy0o wrote:
29 Jul 2017, 04:42
Liam,

The flare came out beautiful and the scene is consistent with the beauty in all of your artwork.

Thank you for your very nice comment! They put me on cloud 9 now :D...
I do need to put myself on the ground again and keep working.

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2036
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by slowtiger » 29 Jul 2017, 15:39

It definitely looks greta, but if I may nitpick a bit: all lens flares from the same light source have to be on one straight line, because they're all caused from the same lens. You only have scattered flares if you also have multiple light sources.
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

lam giang
Posts: 79
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 16:32
Contact:

Re: how to use len fare in FX menu :/

Post by lam giang » 29 Jul 2017, 16:09

slowtiger wrote:
29 Jul 2017, 15:39
It definitely looks greta, but if I may nitpick a bit: all lens flares from the same light source have to be on one straight line, because they're all caused from the same lens. You only have scattered flares if you also have multiple light sources.
Oh...ok, I will do more research on that, thanks! :)
I also got some really good feedback from fellow animators at work about parallaxing.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 8 guests