Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Agris
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jun 2017, 07:48

Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by Agris » 26 Jun 2017, 09:37

Hello, I recently bought iPad pro to replace my Intuos Pro. :) I didn't buy it only for tvpaint, but also photoshop and just sketching on the go. I can say that I really like using it with TVPaint, because it allows to crop just a part of the screen (the drawing area). The whole screen including timeline I see on my other screen. I really like the experience.

But there is one thing that is left that I'm not completely satisfied yet :D - I can't find how to make possible to zoom, like it was possible with Wacom - Right click + Alt style... As iPad pencil doesn't have buttons there is only left click possible. I tried to to bind "right mouse button" to Z, so Alt + Z should work, but it didn't. It would be perfect to make it work for example with Ctrl+left mouse click, so alt is for panning and ctrl for zoom. As I understand it's not possible to do it via edit->shortcuts, but maybe there is some secret preferences file that I could edit?

I'm now using the incremental zooming with keyboard, but It's not the same, it's not as precise and doesn't feel that good.

If it's not possible, then maybe my next step will be searching for an app for Mac OS, to emulate right mouse click with keyboard :D but I'd love to solve it in TVP.

Thanks in advance,
Agris

User avatar
Elodie
Posts: 13912
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by Elodie » 26 Jun 2017, 09:52

Welcome here !

Unfortunately, shortcuts linked to Alt key (pan, zoom, rotate) cannot be changed. It's sort of the corner stone of TVPaint Animation : I know it sounds odd (even to me...), but it would impact the rest of the software...
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

User avatar
meslin
Posts: 133
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 03:07
Location: Connecticut / New York

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by meslin » 26 Jun 2017, 14:31

This is a job for ControllerMate. Easy to use and works great with no noticeable performance hit. $25.
http://www.orderedbytes.com

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1037
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by schwarzgrau » 26 Jun 2017, 15:21

If you don't need much shortcut changes you can also try it's free version, but it's worth the $25
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

o0Ampy0o
Posts: 112
Joined: 25 Oct 2015, 22:26

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by o0Ampy0o » 27 Jun 2017, 02:42

Or just use both so you keep that function. I have an Intuos Pro on the right side of my desk. If for nothing else, sometimes I like to use it alternately with the iPad Pro.
Main System: Mac Pro running OS X: 10.10.5 | 3.8GHz i7 | 32GB RAM | NVIDEA GeForce GTX 970 4GB | 64-bit TVPaint Pro 11.0.6 | iPad Pro, Apple Pencil and Astropad | Wacom Intros Pro using Driver: 6.3.21-8

Agris
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jun 2017, 07:48

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by Agris » 27 Jun 2017, 08:17

meslin wrote:
26 Jun 2017, 14:31
This is a job for ControllerMate. Easy to use and works great with no noticeable performance hit. $25.
http://www.orderedbytes.com
Thanks for the tip!! definitely will check this out!

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3451
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by Peter Wassink » 27 Jun 2017, 08:31

Does anyone know of a controlermate alternative for windows?
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 903
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by NathanOtano » 27 Jun 2017, 10:06

Autohotkey or Glovepie maybe?
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 700
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by Soom » 28 Jun 2017, 10:45

HI guys
first thing - did you ever try using Wacom Intuos or Bamboo pen 2? they claim that they work with iPad and they have a right click button...
I am actually looking into buying iPad Pro and I would like to hear more about your general experiences using it with TVPaint - could you enlighten me a little bit more? thanks
At home: MacBook Pro, Os 10.10.3 (2.2 GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 16 GB RAM), Cintiq 21", TVP Std 11.0.3
At work: PC, Windows 7, Cintiq 22", TVP Std 11.0.3

User avatar
Elodie
Posts: 13912
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by Elodie » 28 Jun 2017, 12:29

Personally, I did not really enjoy the experience using astropad. It works, but not so well (lines can be a little jagged, their might have a delay between your stroke and the line). I liked how thing the stylus is, but not the way you are supposed to recharge it.

If you need to work daily, I would rather use a Cintiq 13", IMHO.
Questions or problems regarding the forum ? Please contact me by PM
Question regarding TVPaint or need a quotation ? Please contact me by email

o0Ampy0o
Posts: 112
Joined: 25 Oct 2015, 22:26

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by o0Ampy0o » 29 Jun 2017, 05:47

Soom wrote:
28 Jun 2017, 10:45
HI guys
first thing - did you ever try using Wacom Intuos or Bamboo pen 2? they claim that they work with iPad and they have a right click button...
I am actually looking into buying iPad Pro and I would like to hear more about your general experiences using it with TVPaint - could you enlighten me a little bit more? thanks
Have you read that this works well with an iPad? I had not heard this and immediately did some quick Googling only turning up how a Wacom (Stylus 2) pen does not work that great with an iPad. But it was just a quick search and reading different threads for a few minutes.

I am just a hobbyist. If I had to work on something all day and everyday I would be willing to spend more which would make the Cintiqs more viable. I would have been very interested in an updated 22HD. I considered the 22HD but the price for the old technology was a factor encouraging me to look for something else. The 27QHD is too large and expensive for me. So I ordered a 13HD but I was ready to send it back by the time it arrived. I never opened the box or tried it before I returned it. The new mobile Cintiqs had not been announced but I would not have a need to invest extra money in the portability.

I have not tried a Cintiq. Only based on reading what people say I suspect it feels better than how my iPad Pro/Apple Pencil feels but I am happy with the other benefits of the iPad Pro set up. A Cintiq has a cumbersome cable and bezel/stand that I do not like at all. I cannot say from experience but I have read that they generate heat, at least more than an iPad Pro which is next to none. The iPad Pro has a very vivid screen while the 22HD at least has been noted for its less than vibrant color. One other advantage is that there is no parallax with the iPad Pro/Apple Pencil.

As far as charging the Apple Pen, they come with a Thunderbolt/USB cable. I keep it connected to a powered USB portal when it is not being used. The only time I plug the pencil directly into the Thunderbolt jack on the iPad is briefly when it needs to be paired.

The new iPad Pro 2 is much faster and has an even more vibrant screen. In videos comparing the previous and new iPad Pros it is clear that they have eliminated the slight latency. It is so minimal that it is not really even a problem. In the video I watched the guy had to show the footage in slow motion in order to see the difference so they are both adequate it is just that the iPad 2 it much faster when drawing with the Apple Pencil. In practice any fraction of a second latency is not significant enough to detract me.

If there are any stores that have the iPad Pro on display to demo with an Apple Pencil it would be worth trying there first. I was fortunate to have this available. Upon trying it I immediately knew I could become accustomed to the feel.

I could not think of any other reason to get an iPad. It would have prompted my decision. It was not until after I had one that I discovered other things I could do with it. Probably the single most valuable is being able to watch video tutorials anytime I have a spare moment. But I bought a 2nd and smaller iPad Pro to carry around. The 12.9 was too large but has been good as a Cintiq-like device.
Main System: Mac Pro running OS X: 10.10.5 | 3.8GHz i7 | 32GB RAM | NVIDEA GeForce GTX 970 4GB | 64-bit TVPaint Pro 11.0.6 | iPad Pro, Apple Pencil and Astropad | Wacom Intros Pro using Driver: 6.3.21-8

User avatar
Soom
Posts: 700
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 16:25
Location: World
Contact:

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by Soom » 29 Jun 2017, 10:48

Thank you for this insight! It's pretty useful to keep in mind. I also read that other pens are not good with iPad - too slow apparently. Unfortunately it's almost impossible to test in a shop, since I need to test iPad's "cintiq mode" with a different pen, but I will keep researching. I have a 21" Cintiq, but I need something portable on the go, if by chance I need to take work with me. Older Cintiqs are a bit cumbersome, and new ones are extremely expensive. I had a Toshiba Encore 2 tablet with Wacom-like functions, which worked pretty Ok with TVPaint (and it was all in one device!) compared to it's price, but it was stolen, and it's not produced any more, and I am searching for any other better, but not too expensive alternative. Toshiba had Mobile Windows 10 on it, and it was a bit of a nightmare as a tablet, but at least I could run TVP on it :)
At home: MacBook Pro, Os 10.10.3 (2.2 GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 16 GB RAM), Cintiq 21", TVP Std 11.0.3
At work: PC, Windows 7, Cintiq 22", TVP Std 11.0.3

Agris
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jun 2017, 07:48

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by Agris » 28 Apr 2018, 12:50

I know this thread is pretty oldie. But it's been almost year since I bought iPad Pro and I can tell that this device at least for me works really good in TVP. I use Astropad Pro (monthly paid version). The only downside still is - I can zoom only with keyboard. Other than that - I think it's perfect. I mirror only part of my screen - the drawing space. All keyframe fiddling I do on my bigger screen. So I get pretty decent space for drawing. I don't get any wiggly lines and when ipad connected with cable not wifi - speed is not issue too. For mobile animating (and even in studio) really good value. I don't use TVP daily, but I've finished few TVP projects and it works! Way better experience than my old intuos.

User avatar
meslin
Posts: 133
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 03:07
Location: Connecticut / New York

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by meslin » 29 Apr 2018, 00:05

What do you want to do to zoom in via Astropad? Press a non-standard hotkey?
If you're desiring to pinch/spread to zoom in and out, then that's probably unlikely.
I have a similar setup (iPad Pro via Astropad) available.
I can set up a Controllermate script for you and you can use the free Controllermate to run it.

-David

Agris
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jun 2017, 07:48

Re: Change the hotkey for zooming for use with iPad Pro

Post by Agris » 29 Apr 2018, 16:32

Hey, Thanks for your reply. Thanks to You i finally purchased Controllermate and after 15 minutes of fiddling I enabled right mouse button support for my iPad and now I'm able to zoom with alt , and do other stuff exclusive to right mouse button in TVP. Thanks.
meslin wrote:
29 Apr 2018, 00:05
What do you want to do to zoom in via Astropad? Press a non-standard hotkey?
If you're desiring to pinch/spread to zoom in and out, then that's probably unlikely.
I have a similar setup (iPad Pro via Astropad) available.
I can set up a Controllermate script for you and you can use the free Controllermate to run it.

-David

Post Reply