Project Window Bug Topic is solved

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
BeniMorard
Posts: 11
Joined: 01 May 2014, 14:55
Location: Zürich

Project Window Bug

Post by BeniMorard » 28 Jul 2016, 16:38

Hello Freinds and Support

I need help with a window bug that is driving me crazy.
But first, my specs:

OS: Mac OSX 10.11.6 (El Capitan) 64 Bit

Software: TVPaint Animation 11.0.3 Pro (mac-64)

Tablet: wacom Cintiq 22HD latest Update installed


The Problem

(pls. also check the pictures i attached)
Whenever i open a hidden drawer on the side of my screen and the drawer is hiding again, the Project window "snaps" down to half the size.
And i don't mean the Zoom but THE WINDOW ITSELLF.
Acctually it does this EVERY TIME the Layout of the software is changed.
So for example, also when I hide the Timeline (0 Key) to have more space to draw, ZAP! the project window snaps down.
And then I have to double-click it two times, or even manually adjust it's size, to get it back the way it was.

I noticed that the Issue is gone when i use the Inlay View for my project window. (Menu/View/Inlay View)
I assume this is bacause then the project "window" is not really a window then, but is in the background of the whole software window.
But thats not really an option for me as a troublefix, because I need the Play and In and Out Point Buttons a lot.

Important: This only happens on the cintiqe!
When i open hidden drawers on the imac Screen with my mouse the issue does NOT occure.


I already tryed reinstall software, upgrading wacom and OS. Issue still there.
I know it does not sound like a BIG bug, but it's rly interrupting my workflow when animating.
Issue-01.png
My normal Layout.
Issue-02.png
I use the hidden drawer for example:
Issue-03.png
when hidden drawer hides again, the PROJECT window snaps down like this
Issue-04.png
this happens EVERYTIME the layout changes in the smalest way.
Also when i hide the Timeline for example, the Project Window snaps down like this.
Issue- 05.png
when I use "Inlay View" for the project window, the bug is NOT there.

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Project Window Bug

Post by Elodie » 29 Jul 2016, 06:16

I don't have exactly the same issue than you.

I've already noticed that using a second monitor on a Mac with a Retina screen could have a result a bug in the project window (that get split in two for no reasons), but only when I move the window from the Retina to the second monitor. Then I usually get rid of this split issue by playing with the size of TVPaint window, until it works fine. But, I've never had this trouble when using drawers.


I've recorded a video... hopefully it helps :s

http://www.tvpaint.com/forum_attachment ... rIssue.mp4" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

BeniMorard
Posts: 11
Joined: 01 May 2014, 14:55
Location: Zürich

Re: Project Window Bug

Post by BeniMorard » 29 Jul 2016, 07:45

Hi Elodie

thx for the response.
Sadly your vid-link is not working.

I don't have a Retina Display. I have a iMac 27-inch, Late 2013. So still without Retina.

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Project Window Bug

Post by Elodie » 29 Jul 2016, 07:49

Ok, good to know, we will work on that.

BTW, sorry, I realize the link is not working, I'm checking why...

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Project Window Bug

Post by Elodie » 29 Jul 2016, 08:00

ok, it works now ! (the link I mean)

BeniMorard
Posts: 11
Joined: 01 May 2014, 14:55
Location: Zürich

Re: Project Window Bug

Post by BeniMorard » 29 Jul 2016, 08:36

Hey Elodie

Thx for your Video it gave me an idea. And voila I found a little workaround thanks to it.
Maybe it also works for your problem?

The Workaround is like this:
Set the cintiq as primary monitor and the window bug disapears.
workaround-windowbug.png
set cintiq as primary screen.
(and activate "show mirroring opions in the menu bar" so you will have the menu bar on both displays)
This is not a final solution because I actually don't want my cintiq to be the primary monitor.
(Becauase now of course, every application opens on my cintiq and stuff like that)

But at least i can get rid of the bug, if I have to work longer projects in TVPaint.

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Project Window Bug

Post by Elodie » 29 Jul 2016, 11:16

I cannot define which screen is the primary one, the screen from my mac book pro si always the primary one (yes I can switch screens' place, but not their "role")

But thanks for the hint. :)

Post Reply